Technologie du commerce alimentaire dans un monde post-COVID

Enquête sectorielle :

Comment la pandémie transforme les services et les commerces de détail alimentaires

 

Peu de secteurs ont été aussi durement touchés par la pandémie que celui des services et des commerces de détail alimentaires. Cependant, les entreprises s’adaptent rapidement, adoptant de nouveaux modèles commerciaux appuyés par des technologies transformatrices. Cinq mois après le début de la pandémie, nous avons mené une enquête auprès de 150 décideurs technologiques et avons constaté que le secteur changeait en temps réel. Voici un aperçu de ce que nous avons appris…

L’évolution du comportement des consommateurs présente un énorme défi

La COVID-19 a changé la façon dont les clients font leurs achats et mangent, les préoccupations en matière de santé et de sécurité augmentant la demande d'achats en ligne, d’options de ramassage, de livraison et de commodité. Cela a eu un impact majeur sur les fournisseurs de produits alimentaires. Plus de la moitié d'entre eux ont vu leurs revenus diminuer de 10 à 30 % alors qu'ils essayaient de rattraper les besoins des consommateurs. Et la plupart d'entre eux prévoient avoir à gérer ces défis pendant au moins les douze prochains mois.

 

Principales priorités stratégiques pour l’adoption des technologies

À l'aide du menu déroulant, découvrez pourquoi les décideurs se tournent vers les technologies transformatrices – et comment leurs priorités ont changé au cours de la dernière année.

 
21 %
59 %
 
 

Janvier 2020

 

Août 2020

 
 

Le changement stimulera l’innovation des modèles commerciaux

Comment les fournisseurs de produits alimentaires vont-ils réagir à l'évolution des comportements des consommateurs? Au cours des 24 prochains mois, ils expérimenteront avec leurs modèles commerciaux, par exemple en déconstruisant les points de vente de détail à usage général pour en faire des installations à usage unique, telles que les magasins libre-service et les magasins offrant le service au volant seulement, les centres de traitement des commandes spécialisés et les restaurants virtuels. De plus, ils chercheront à gérer eux-mêmes les livraisons à domicile afin de récupérer les bénéfices.

Les entreprises doivent faire preuve d’adaptabilité pour réussir

L'adaptabilité est indispensable pour passer à des modèles commerciaux nouveaux ou améliorés. En fait, 100 % des personnes interrogées dans le cadre de l'enquête ont convenu qu'elle était le facteur clé de la réussite des entreprises depuis le début de la pandémie. L'adaptabilité dépend d'un certain nombre de facteurs, dont la rapidité des cycles de décision et d'apprentissage. Mais le facteur le plus important est la transformation numérique, qui consiste à repenser chaque aspect de l’entreprise en fonction de ce que permet la technologie numérique.

L’adoption des technologies transformatrices devient de plus en plus urgente

Les fournisseurs de produits alimentaires savent qu’un investissement dans de nouvelles technologies peut leur procurer un avantage stratégique, en particulier pendant la pandémie. À l'heure actuelle, leur principale priorité stratégique est d'intégrer les expériences d'achat physiques, numériques et mobiles pour offrir aux consommateurs un moyen sûr et pratique de savourer leurs aliments. Rien d’étonnant à ce que les priorités – et les plans d'adoption des technologies – aient considérablement changé depuis le début de la COVID-19.

Les solutions sans contact gagnent du terrain

Invités à nommer la chose la plus innovante que leur organisme avait accomplie au cours de la pandémie, de nombreux répondants à l'enquête ont souligné l'adoption des technologies sans contact. 68 % avaient déjà adopté des casiers alimentaires pour le ramassage par les clients sur une base limitée, alors que beaucoup d'autres faisaient l’essai de technologies telles que les kiosques avec la reconnaissance faciale et la reconnaissance des véhicules et des plaques d'immatriculation pour le service au volant.

Obtenez plus de renseignements clés issus de notre enquête

Vous êtes prêt à examiner de plus près l'état du secteur alimentaire et le rôle croissant des technologies transformatrices? Découvrez tous les résultats de nos recherches en téléchargeant notre rapport complet.

Infographies

Découvrez les principales conclusions de notre rapport, condensées en infographies pratiques pour les restaurants à service rapide et les épiceries.
1 restaurant à service rapide sur 7 se considère comme un pionnier de la technologie

Télécharger
1 épicerie sur 3 se considère comme un pionnier de la technologie

Télécharger

Balados

Dans deux récents épisodes de notre balado intitulé The Big REThink, nous discutons de la manière dont la technologie aide les fournisseurs de services alimentaires et les commerçants alimentaires à s'adapter à une réalité post-COVID.

Che Baird discute de la transformation des services alimentaires

Commandes : Comment les outils numériques transforment/redéfinissent l’expérience des commandes à emporter

Les commandes en ligne, les applis mobiles et autres technologies ont permis de rendre les repas plus rapides et pratiques que jamais pour les clients de restaurants. Cette commodité entraîne une demande accrue, plus particulièrement dans le contexte des protocoles de sécurité et des directives de distanciation sociale en vigueur. Michael Lavigne, président et directeur général de CLEARVIEW, et Che Baird, responsable des relations avec la clientèle chez Panasonic Canada, se joignent à l’animatrice Susan Campbell pour expliquer comment la technologie aide les restaurants à suivre le rythme, comment elle crée une expérience plus personnalisée pour les clients et quel est son rôle quant à la prévision de la demande.
*Balado offert en anglais seulement.

Matt Judkins discute de la transformation des services alimentaires

Adaptation dans l’allée 5 : Comment les épiciers répondent aux besoins changeants des clients

Les clients des épiceries veulent, et ont besoin, de moyens sûrs, rapides et pratiques pour faire leurs achats. Matt Judkins, directeur des communications d’entreprise chez Hussmann Corporation, se joint à l'animatrice Susan Campbell pour partager son point de vue sur les technologies qui aident les épiciers à offrir une telle expérience, de la commande en ligne au ramassage sans contact. De plus, ils discutent des initiatives de durabilité dans les épiceries et les chaînes d'approvisionnement, et de ce à quoi pourrait ressembler l'avenir du commerce de détail alimentaire.
*Balado offert en anglais seulement.

Découvrez nos solutions technologiques en matière de services et commerces de détail alimentaires

Nous rendons les services alimentaires plus rapides et plus personnels grâce à des dispositifs de point de vente, des comptoirs libre-service et des systèmes de communication de service au volant, tous reliés au système d'administration du restaurant pour que la clientèle reçoive ce qu’elle a réellement commandé.

En savoir plus

Notre division Hussmann est fière de servir le secteur du commerce de détail alimentaire grâce à son expertise en matière de commercialisation, d'efficacité énergétique et de durabilité, de qualité et d'intégrité des aliments, de réfrigération, de conception et d'ingénierie, de service et d'installation, et de performance de la vente au détail. *Site en anglais seulement.

En savoir plus

Enquête de HBR sur la situation du secteur alimentaire

En janvier 2020, avant l'apparition du coronavirus, nous avons mené une étude auprès des services et des commerces de détail alimentaires en partenariat avec Harvard Business Review. Il s'agit d'un aperçu fascinant des priorités et des attitudes du secteur à l'égard des technologies transformatrices, avant que des événements imprévus ne créent une nouvelle urgence à évoluer. * Résultats de l'enquête disponibles en anglais seulement.

Livre numérique – Services et commerces de détail alimentaires

Où se dirige le secteur? Qui fait le meilleur usage de la technologie actuelle? Comment Panasonic et Hussmann font-ils progresser les affaires? Obtenez les réponses dans notre livre numérique.

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Food Retail Technology in a Post-Covid World

Industry survey:

How COVID-19 is transforming Food Services & Food Retail

 

Few industries have been hit as hard by the pandemic as Food Services & Food Retail. Businesses, however, are adapting quickly, embracing new business models powered by transformative technologies. Five months into the pandemic, we surveyed 150 technology decision makers and found an industry changing in real-time. Here’s some of what we learned...

4.5 out of 5: Average rating of business impact from changes in customer shopping behaviour.

Shifts in consumer behavior are a huge challenge

COVID-19 has changed the way customers shop and eat, with health and safety concerns increasing demand for online shopping, pick-up and delivery options, and convenience. This has had a major impact on food providers. More than half have seen revenues fall by 10-30% while they attempt to catch up to consumer needs. And most expect to be managing these challenges for at least the next 12+ months.

#interactive #dropdown { width: calc(80vw - 59vw * 0.7); max-width: 520px; margin-left: 5vw; margin-right: 5vw; margin-top:8px; z-index: 999; } #interactive.touchdevice #dropdown { width: auto; margin-bottom: 30px; } #interactive #barchart { height: 93px; } #interactive.touchdevice #barchart { margin-left: 5vw; transform-origin: top left; transform: scale(2); height: 193px } #interactive #barchart .chartnumber { position: absolute; top: -1px; right: 5px; color: #fff; font-family: 'DINOT',Arial,Helvetica,Sans-serif; font-size: 30px; line-height: 30px; margin-left: 7px; width: 50vw; text-align: right; } #interactive.touchdevice #barchart .chartnumber { font-size: 15px; } #darkbluenumber span { font-size: 10px; color: #333; } #interactive .custom-select { float: left; position: relative; font-family: 'DINOT',Arial,Helvetica,Sans-serif; font-size: 1rem; } #interactive.touchdevice .custom-select { float: none; } #interactive select { display: none; /*hide original SELECT element: */ } .select-selected { background-color: #fff; } /* Style the arrow inside the select element: */ .select-selected:after { position: absolute; content: ""; top: 7px; right: 20px; width: 30px; height: 30px; border: 1px solid transparent; border-color: #00aeef #00aeef transparent transparent; transform: rotate(135deg); } /* Point the arrow upwards when the select box is open (active): */ .select-selected.select-arrow-active:after { transform: rotate(-45deg); top: 28px; } /* style the items (options), including the selected item: */ .select-items div,.select-selected { color: #000; padding: 20px 60px 24px 16px; border: 1px solid transparent; border-color: transparent #dadbdc #dadbdc #dadbdc; cursor: pointer; } .select-selected { border-color: #dadbdc; border-bottom-color: #00aeef; } /* Style items (options): */ .select-items { position: absolute; background-color: #fff; top: 100%; left: 0; right: 0; z-index: 99; } /* Hide the items when the select box is closed: */ .select-hide { display: none; } .select-items div:hover, .same-as-selected { background-color: #f0f0f0; }   Top strategic priorities for tech adoption Using the pull-down menu, see why decision makers are turning to transformative technologies — and how their priorities have changed over the past year. Integrate physical, digital and mobile shopping experiencesAddress changing customer expectations around personal health and safetyIncrease process automation to drive quality and efficiencyTransform the in-store shopping or restaurant experienceDrive consumer loyalty through customer identification and personalization   21% 59%     January 2020   August 2020     if ((is_touch_device())) { document.getElementById("interactive").classList.add("touchdevice"); } var x, i, j, l, ll, selElmnt, a, b, c, sel; sel=1; /*look for any elements with the class "custom-select":*/ x = document.getElementsByClassName("custom-select"); l = x.length; for (i = 0; i < l; i++) { selElmnt = x[i].getElementsByTagName("select")[0]; ll = selElmnt.length; /*for each element, create a new DIV that will act as the selected item:*/ a = document.createElement("DIV"); a.setAttribute("class", "select-selected"); a.innerHTML = selElmnt.options[selElmnt.selectedIndex].innerHTML; x[i].appendChild(a); /*for each element, create a new DIV that will contain the option list:*/ b = document.createElement("DIV"); b.setAttribute("class", "select-items select-hide"); for (j = 0; j < ll; j++) { /*for each option in the original select element, create a new DIV that will act as an option item:*/ c = document.createElement("DIV"); if (j == 0) { c.setAttribute("class", "same-as-selected"); } c.innerHTML = selElmnt.options[j].innerHTML; c.addEventListener("click", function(e) { /*when an item is clicked, update the original select box, and the selected item:*/ var y, i, k, s, h, sl, yl, t; s = this.parentNode.parentNode.getElementsByTagName("select")[0]; sl = s.length; h = this.parentNode.previousSibling; for (i = 0; i < sl; i++) { if (s.options[i].innerHTML == this.innerHTML) { s.selectedIndex = i; h.innerHTML = this.innerHTML; y = this.parentNode.getElementsByClassName("same-as-selected"); yl = y.length; for (k = 0; k < yl; k++) { y[k].removeAttribute("class"); } this.setAttribute("class", "same-as-selected"); sel = s.selectedIndex + 1; updateChart(sel); document.getElementById("first-select").classList.remove("hide-first"); break; } } h.click(); }); b.appendChild(c); } x[i].appendChild(b); a.addEventListener("click", function(e) { /*when the select box is clicked, close any other select boxes, and open/close the current select box:*/ e.stopPropagation(); closeAllSelect(this); this.nextSibling.classList.toggle("select-hide"); this.classList.toggle("select-arrow-active"); }); } /* refresh chart */ updateChart(sel); window.addEventListener('resize', function(){ updateChart(sel); }, true); function closeAllSelect(elmnt) { /*a function that will close all select boxes in the document, except the current select box:*/ var x, y, i, xl, yl, arrNo = []; x = document.getElementsByClassName("select-items"); y = document.getElementsByClassName("select-selected"); xl = x.length; yl = y.length; for (i = 0; i < yl; i++) { if (elmnt == y[i]) { arrNo.push(i); } else { y[i].classList.remove("select-arrow-active"); } } for (i = 0; i < xl; i++) { if (arrNo.indexOf(i)) { x[i].classList.add("select-hide"); } } } /*if the user clicks anywhere outside the select box, then close all select boxes:*/ document.addEventListener("click", closeAllSelect); var select = document.querySelector('#priority'), input = document.querySelector('input[type="button"]'); select.addEventListener('change',function(){ sel = select.value; updateChart(sel); }); input.addEventListener('click',function(){ select.value = 2; select.dispatchEvent(new Event('change')); }); function updateChart(selected) { var res1, res2, ww; ww = Math.min(window.innerWidth, 1260); document.getElementById("darkbluenumber").style.color = "#fff"; document.getElementById("darkbluenumber").style.right = "5px"; document.getElementById("darkbluenumber").style.left = "auto"; document.getElementById("darkbluenumber").style.textAlign = "right"; switch(parseInt(selected)-1) { case 0: res1 = 21; res2 = 59; break; case 1: res1 = 0; res2 = 54; document.getElementById("darkbluenumber").style.color = "#0049ab"; document.getElementById("darkbluenumber").style.right = "auto"; document.getElementById("darkbluenumber").style.left = "0"; document.getElementById("darkbluenumber").style.textAlign = "left"; break; case 2: res1 = 27; res2 = 31; break; case 3: res1 = 33; res2 = 25; break; case 4: res1 = 45; res2 = 17; break; } document.getElementById("darkbluebar").style.width = res1 * ww * 0.007 + "px"; document.getElementById("lightbluebar").style.width = res2 * ww * 0.007 + "px"; if (res1 == 0) { document.getElementById("darkbluenumber").innerHTML = "N/A New choice added to the 8/20 survey."; } else { document.getElementById("darkbluenumber").innerHTML = res1 + "%"; } document.getElementById("lightbluenumber").innerHTML = res2 + "%"; } function is_touch_device() { try { document.createEvent("TouchEvent"); return true; } catch (e) { return false; } }
84% are likely to invest in in-house, last-mile delivery.

Change will spur business model innovation

How will food providers respond to shifting consumer behaviors? Over the next 24 months, they’ll be experimenting with their business models – for example, deconstructing the general-purpose store into single-purpose facilities, such as self-service and drive-thru only stores, dedicated fulfillment centers, and ghost kitchens. In addition, they’ll be looking at managing home deliveries themselves to recoup profits.

71%: Rated digital transformation as very important to business agility.

Businesses must be agile to adapt successfully

To pivot to new or augmented business models, agility is a must. In fact, 100% of survey respondents agreed it’s the key factor driving business success since the pandemic began. Agility depends on a number of factors, including rapid decision and learning cycles. But the most important enabler is digital transformation – rethinking every aspect of your business through the lens of what digital technology allows.

2X as many food providers see themselves as tech-forward now

Urgency to adopt transformative technologies is increasing

Food providers know that investing in new technologies can give them a strategic advantage, especially during the pandemic. Right now, their top strategic priority is integrating physical, digital and mobile shopping experiences to provide consumers with a safe and convenient way to enjoy their food. Not surprisingly, priorities – and tech adoption plans – have shifted dramatically since COVID-19 began.

78% report increased consumer demand for contactless technologies.

Contactless solutions are gaining momentum

Asked to name the most innovative thing their organization had done during the pandemic, many survey respondents pointed to adoption of contactless technologies. 68% had already adopted food lockers for customer pick-up on a limited basis. And many others were experimenting with technologies such as facial recognition kiosks and vehicle/license plate recognition for the drive-thru.

Quote: "This pandemic has really shown that businesses need to have agility to survive and win. Without agility there will be a lot of resistance to change, leading to a wider scope of failures." VP of Marketing, Grocery

Get more key insights from our survey

Ready to dig further into the state of the industry and the growing role of transformative technologies? See all the results from our research by downloading our full report.

Infographics

Discover key findings from our report, distilled into handy infographics for both quick-service restaurant (QSR) and grocery segments.
1 in 7 QSRs see themselves as tech-forward early adopters
1 in 3 grocers see themselves as tech-forward, early adopters

Podcasts

In two recent episodes of our podcast, The Big REthink, we discuss how technology is helping food service providers and food retailers adapt to a post-Covid reality.

Che Baird on how food services is transforming

Order Up: How Digital Tools Are Reshaping the Takeout Experience

Online ordering, mobile apps and other technologies have made dining faster and more convenient than ever for restaurant customers. And with that convenience comes increased demand – especially amid ongoing safety protocols and social-distancing guidelines. Michael Lavigne, president and CEO of CLEARVIEW, and Che Baird, customer relationship manager at Panasonic Canada, join host Susan Campbell to discuss how tech is helping restaurants keep up, how it’s creating a more personalized experience for customers and what its role is in predicting demand.

Matt Judkins on how food retail is transforming

Adapting in Aisle 5: How Grocers Are Responding to Customers’ Changing Needs

Grocery store customers want – and need – safe, quick and convenient ways to shop for food. Matt Judkins, director of corporate marketing communication for Hussmann Corporation, joins host Susan Campbell to share his take on the technologies that are helping grocers provide just such an experience, from online ordering to contactless pickup. Plus, they discuss sustainability initiatives in grocery stores and supply chains, and what the future of food retail might look like.

Learn more about our technology solutions for Food Services & Food Retail

We’re making food service faster and more personal with point-of-sale-devices, self-ordering kiosks and drive-thru communication systems all connected to the back of the restaurant – so customers can really have it their way.
Our Hussmann division proudly serves the food retail industry with expertise in merchandising, energy efficiency and sustainability, food quality and integrity, refrigeration, design and engineering, service and installation, and retail performance.

HBR food industry pulse research

Back in January 2020, before the coronavirus outbreak, we conducted a Food Services & Food Retail study in partnership with Harvard Business Review. It's a fascinating snapshot of industry priorities and attitudes about transformative technologies at a time before unforeseen events would create a new urgency to evolve.

Food retail report - Cover art

Food Services & Food Retail eBook

Where is the industry headed? Who's making the best use of today's technology? How are Panasonic and Hussmann moving business forward? Get the answers in our five-minute eBook.